Example Redress Scheme - Complainant Reviews

Highfield House, Highfield Lane
Liphook

GU30 7LJ

51.0733, -0.7868

Dispute Resolution

Listed under:  Dispute Resolution - Property
100% recommended   Rating 9.2/10
4 reviews since 2015
 
Complaints Handling
 
Overall Rating
9.2 /10 Overall Rating 9.2/10
Based on 4 reviews since 2015
 
 
 
Straightforward 8.5/10 Straightforward Rating 8.5
The process is straightforward, efficent and not too formal

 
Communication 8.8/10 Communication Rating 8.8
I am able to express my views and see the agent\'s response

 
Preserving Relationships 9/10 Preserving Relationships Rating 9.0
They encouraged a positive approach between both sides

 
Timely Decisions 9.5/10 Timely Decisions Rating 9.5
Decisions are made in a reasonable time

 
Fair 10/10 Fair Rating 10.0
Decisions are clear, unbiased and reasonable even if not in my favour

 
 
 
Recent Reviews 
 
" The staff at the redress scheme could not have been more helpful. They helped us with all the forms and handled all the questions with the agent. We appreciated the agent's apology in the end"   more
 
" The scheme is very thorough, but I'm not sure what we achieved. I prefer the system in Scotland which is what I'm used to. At least we know the agent did what they're supposed to do, so that's somet...."   more
 
" We had not heard about the Ombudsman scheme and we were a bit put off by all the paperwork, but in the end we felt we were listened to. It wasn't about the money - it was the principle."   more
 
" We ask buyers, sellers, tenants and landlords to give their ratings and comments about the redress scheme, not about the agent. In particular we ask whether the redress decision was clear, unbiased...."   more
 
About Us


This listing, and the reviews displayed, are for demonstration purposes only.

Referenceline is working with the National Trading Standards Estate Agency Team to carry out a survey of Agent and Complainants views about the service provided by redress schemes in 2015.
     
 
Reputations are not built overnight
In Referenceline's view, this track record is more important than the ratings. Don't be impressed by a few old reviews which may not be representative.  Look for firms with a commitment to asking for feedback - good or bad - from their customers.  We recommend that you look for a track record of ratings and reviews in at least 9 of the last 12 months and that you should not be too concerned about an isolated negative review.  Ask the firm for their side of the story.
 


 
Dispute Scheme Rules
Businesses have a legal responsibility to treat you fairly, but it's often hard to know what questions to ask or what standards to expect.  They are the experts and you should be able to rely on them to help you make decisions.  These questions explain the commitments that this business has made to follow a code of practice and they will help you understand what you have a right to expect.

 
Right to Complain: 75%
Did the Agent explain, at the time that you chose them, about your right to complain to a redress scheme?
 
Complaints Procedure: 50%
Did the Agent give you their written complaints procedure, when you complained?
 
Written Response: 75%
Did the Agent give you a written response to your complaint?
 
How the scheme works: 100%
Did the Redress Scheme explain the types of dispute they consider, how the scheme works and how long the process may take?
 
Offer Help: 100%
Did the Redress Scheme offer information and help in completing any forms?
 
Decisions are Binding: 50%
Did the Redress Scheme explain the possible outcomes, and the fact that the agent is bound by the decision, if you accept it?
 
Reject or Appeal: 100%
Did the Redress Scheme explain that you can reject, appeal or ask for a review of the decision?
You can see how many customers have said "Yes" in answer to each question, but please don't expect 100% in every case.  Nobody's perfect and some customers may not be completely sure about the answer.  It's more important that you understand these questions and discuss them with the business so that you both agree what good service means for you.  A responsible business will be happy to explain the details to you and it's always better to clarify these points upfront to avoid misunderstandings later on.
 


Most Popular Words
Reputations are about so more than just ratings. What are the words that customers tend to volunteer when a firm is mentioned? Do they mention particular people that work there?

redress 2
scheme 4
account 1
achieved 1
analysing 1
apology 1
appreciated 1
buyers 1
clear 1
comments 1
These are the words most often used in the reviews for this business. Look for the names and comments that reviewers use most often. We count each word once per review.


 
Reviews that match your Budget
There are many good businesses listed on this site. Some may specialise in either larger or smaller budgets, while other may cater for the full range. See if this business has demonstrated a track record of experience that matches your needs.
 
This chart shows the value of the reviews received by Referenceline, so you can see if they generally handle the size of budget you have in mind. You can use the filter below to select the reviews that match your need.
 


Customer Reviews
Sort:        

1

Budget:  


Review 3 Jan 2016
Recommended by customer in GU10
 My Age: 40 - 49 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
51.1316, -0.7749
 
 
Complaints Handling
 
Straightforward 8/10
The process is straightforward, efficent and not too formal
Communication 10/10
I am able to express my views and see the agent's response
Preserving Relationships 8/10
They encouraged a positive approach between both sides
Timely Decisions 10/10
Decisions are made in a reasonable time
Fair 10/10
Decisions are clear, unbiased and reasonable even if not in my favour
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
We felt the agent was not really on our side, even though we were paying their fees. We were disappointed by the price we got.
 

"The staff at the redress scheme could not have been more helpful. They helped us with all the forms and handled all the questions with the agent. We appreciated the agent's apology in the end"
 
 
 
 
 
   Business Reply:

Although the agent had acted correctly in all material respects and the client had not suffered any financial loss, the correspondence could have been worded more clearly and we advised the agent accordingly.

We note that the agent has apologised for any misunderstanding and we are pleased to see that they have revised their standard letters to avoid any similar problems in future.
 


Review 3 Jan 2016
Recommended by customer in SW12
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Above Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
51.4529, -0.1536
 
 
Complaints Handling
 
Straightforward 9/10
The process is straightforward, efficent and not too formal
Communication 8/10
I am able to express my views and see the agent's response
Preserving Relationships 8/10
They encouraged a positive approach between both sides
Timely Decisions 10/10
Decisions are made in a reasonable time
Fair 10/10
Decisions are clear, unbiased and reasonable even if not in my favour
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
I did not like the way the final offers were handled.
 

"The scheme is very thorough, but I'm not sure what we achieved. I prefer the system in Scotland which is what I'm used to. At least we know the agent did what they're supposed to do, so that's something I suppose."
 
 
 
 
 
   Business Reply:

We sympathise with this consumer's comment about the process for buying and selling residential property in the UK.

Nevertheless, in this case, we were pleased to be able to confirm that the agent had acted very properly throughout the transaction and had followed our guidelines.
 


Review 3 Jan 2016
Recommended by customer in SW12
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Above Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
51.4529, -0.1536
 
 
Complaints Handling
 
Straightforward 7/10
The process is straightforward, efficent and not too formal
Communication 8/10
I am able to express my views and see the agent's response
Preserving Relationships 10/10
They encouraged a positive approach between both sides
Timely Decisions 9/10
Decisions are made in a reasonable time
Fair 10/10
Decisions are clear, unbiased and reasonable even if not in my favour
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
The agent did not seem to care about the problems we had after we moved in.
 

"We had not heard about the Ombudsman scheme and we were a bit put off by all the paperwork, but in the end we felt we were listened to. It wasn't about the money - it was the principle."
 
 
 
 
 
   Business Reply:

A number of structural problems came to light in the course of planned improvement works to the property. We are satisfied that these problems were not known to the vendor or to the agent and indeed would probably not have come to light in a standard survey.

We would advise any prospective buyer planning to carry out extensive work on a property to arrange for appropriate detailed survey before committing to the purchase.
 


Review 27 Dec 2015
Recommended by customer in GU30
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Above Average 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
51.0733, -0.7868
 
 
Complaints Handling
 
Straightforward 10/10
The process is straightforward, efficent and not too formal
Communication 9/10
I am able to express my views and see the agent's response
Preserving Relationships 10/10
They encouraged a positive approach between both sides
Timely Decisions 9/10
Decisions are made in a reasonable time
Fair 10/10
Decisions are clear, unbiased and reasonable even if not in my favour
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
This space is for a brief description of the original dispute, so we can understand the issue(s) that the redress scheme had to decide.
 
Cost: £6

"We ask buyers, sellers, tenants and landlords to give their ratings and comments about the redress scheme, not about the agent.

In particular we ask whether the redress decision was clear, unbiased and reasonable, even if not in their favour.

We understand in practice - just as in court - that it is very difficult to feel good about a process which delivers a decision that you don't like. We will therefore take this into account when analysing the results."
 
 
 
 
 
   Business Reply:

The redress scheme may add its own response to any review.

This may be to respond to a question or criticism, or perhaps also to highlight any general lessons or recommendations arising from the case.
 

Back to top

1