Nelson The Removal & Storage Company Ltd

Unit 5 Downs Way Industrial Estate, Heathhall
Dumfries
Dumfriesshire
DG1 3RS

55.0933, -3.5795

Removers - Removals Companies

Listed under:  Removers / Removal Companies
97% recommended   Rating 9.5/10
326 reviews since 2007
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Overall Rating
9.5 /10 Overall Rating 9.5/10
Based on 326 reviews since 2007
 
 
 
Sales & Support 9.3/10 Sales & Support Rating 9.3
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand

 
Packing & Handling 9.3/10 Packing & Handling Rating 9.3
The firm took care in packing and handling our property

 
Collection & delivery 9.7/10 Collection & delivery Rating 9.7
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed

 
Service 9.8/10 Service Rating 9.8
The staff were presentable punctual and polite

 
Value 9.2/10 Value Rating 9.2
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved

 
 
 
Recent Reviews 
 
" Excellent service with friendly helpful staff. Would recommend."   more
 
" Good service."   more
 
" Paul and James were very professional and even at the end of the day when they were tied they couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely recommend t...."   more
 
" The team were exceptional! Polite, courteous, friendly and professional. A joy to work with everything was "cared for" taken from property 1 and put exactly where needed in property 2. Highly recom...."   more
 
About Us


Choose a removal company that fully protects your property & possessions.

Trusted for over 35 years, Nelson Removals have helped hundreds of home owners move their belongings and business owners relocate their premises, in a safe and reliable manner.

Why take chances on moving day? You can rest easier with our trained and dependable staff.

     
 
Reputations are not built overnight
In Referenceline's view, this track record is more important than the ratings. Don't be impressed by a few old reviews which may not be representative.  Look for firms with a commitment to asking for feedback - good or bad - from their customers.  We recommend that you look for a track record of ratings and reviews in at least 9 of the last 12 months and that you should not be too concerned about an isolated negative review.  Ask the firm for their side of the story.
 


 
Code of Practice
Businesses have a legal responsibility to treat you fairly, but it's often hard to know what questions to ask or what standards to expect.  They are the experts and you should be able to rely on them to help you make decisions.  These questions explain the commitments that this business has made to follow a code of practice and they will help you understand what you have a right to expect.

 
Code of practice: 86%
Before the move, did your remover make you aware of the Code of Practice?
 
Description: 100%
Before the move, did your remover give you a clear description, price and timetable for the work to be carried out?
 
Loss or damage: 91%
Did your remover draw your particular attention to the contract terms relating to a). Liability for loss or damage?
 
Claims timing: 78%
Did your remover draw your particular attention to the contract terms relating to b). Time limits for making claims?
 
Cancellation: 89%
Did your remover draw your particular attention to the contract terms relating to c). Cancellation / postponement rights and charges?
 
Protection options: 90%
Before the move, did your remover explain your insurance or other protection options?
 
Claims procedure: 74%
Before the move, did your remover make you aware of the procedure for making claims and to whom complaints should be referred?
You can see how many customers have said "Yes" in answer to each question, but please don't expect 100% in every case.  Nobody's perfect and some customers may not be completely sure about the answer.  It's more important that you understand these questions and discuss them with the business so that you both agree what good service means for you.  A responsible business will be happy to explain the details to you and it's always better to clarify these points upfront to avoid misunderstandings later on.
 


Most Popular Words
Reputations are about so more than just ratings. What are the words that customers tend to volunteer when a firm is mentioned? Do they mention particular people that work there?

arrived 14
best 11
boxes 11
brilliant 14
c 15
care 12
cheerful 21
class 14
courteous 20
crew 14
Damage 8
definitely 7
delighted 7
delivery 8
easier 7
efficient 39
efficiently 11
Excellent 63
extremely 13
fantastic 13
free 7
friendly 41
furniture 12
Good 37
great 13
happy 13
hard 21
helpful 73
Highly 13
impressed 7
involved 7
lads 7
Mark 7
Nelson 15
Nelsons 10
packing 9
Patient 7
pleasant 17
pleased 13
Polite 48
professional 31
quick 9
quickly 12
recommend 32
removal 40
service 82
Stressful 18
team 29
thank 24
trouble 21
These are the words most often used in the reviews for this business. Look for the names and comments that reviewers use most often. We count each word once per review.


 
Reviews that match your Budget
There are many good businesses listed on this site. Some may specialise in either larger or smaller budgets, while other may cater for the full range. See if this business has demonstrated a track record of experience that matches your needs.
 
This chart shows the value of the reviews received by Referenceline, so you can see if they generally handle the size of budget you have in mind. You can use the filter below to select the reviews that match your need.
 


Customer Reviews
Sort:        

» 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

Budget:  


Review 2 May 2018
Recommended by customer in DG1
 My Age: 40 - 49 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
55.0624, -3.5213
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Cost: £495

"Excellent service with friendly helpful staff.
Would recommend."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Jeff James
 
 
 


Review 30 Apr 2018
Recommended by customer in NE39
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 My level of experience of similar services: Below Average 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
54.9297, -1.7804
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 8/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 9/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 9/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 9/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Had to use storage, extra removal cost.
 
Cost: £1340

"Good service."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Jeff James Kevin Z
 
 
 


Review 30 Apr 2018
Recommended by customer in DL4
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
54.6303, -1.6367
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 9/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
The move went smoothly without any mishaps.
 
Cost: £1008

"Paul and James were very professional and even at the end of the day when they were tied they couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would definitely recommend them to my family."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Paul Jame
 
 
 


Review 27 Apr 2018
Recommended by customer in DG1
 My Age: 40 - 49 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Above Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
55.0896, -3.5932
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Moved 75 miles from STranraer to Dumfries.
We have a lot of boxes 120+, this due to my hobby room.
There are stairs in both properties.
 
Cost: £1013

"The team were exceptional!
Polite, courteous, friendly and professional.
A joy to work with everything was "cared for" taken from property 1 and put exactly where needed in property 2.
Highly recommended."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Paul Kevin Zander
 
 
 


Review 11 Apr 2018
Recommended by customer in DG10
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Female 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
55.332592, -3.443968
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Cost: £663

"Excellent service.
They have now moved us twice, from the South of England up to Scotland and last week again.
Twenty miles from Moffat to the edge of Dumfries."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Paul James
 
 
 


Review 11 Apr 2018
Recommended by customer in OL13
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Beginner 
 I haven't used this business before 
53.6912, -2.1769
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Moving down to England to temporary accommodation which escalated in time.
Nearly 4 months storage was needed.
When we were able to complete every thing was put in place.
 

"From day one of our intended move down is England.
Nelson gave us all the help and advise along the way.
First visit for assessment.
Day of removal was weather as grim as it could get.
The men arrived on time and gave us peace of mind.
They were first class gentleman.
Helpful, good at their job and to great care with our worldly goods also got the same team when we arrived."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Jim Zander
 
 
 


Review 28 Mar 2018
Recommended by customer in DG8
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Below Average 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
54.9164, -4.6115
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Cost: £491

"Very courteous and helpful.
Worked quickly and efficiently."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Jeff James
 
 
 


Review 5 Mar 2018
Recommended by customer in DG8
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
56.94601, -1.490492
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
The move was them 3 bed in Dumfries to 3 bed in Newton Stewart.
 
Cost: £464

"This move was as seamless as it could be. From office staff and planning through to physical move on the day it was carried out with the utmost courtesy and understanding. I cannot praise Kevin and Zander enough - they said I was easy to work with but that with because they did such a fantastic job - quiet, polite and polished. "
 
 
 
 
Team:
Kevin Zander
 
 
 


Review 9 Feb 2018
Recommended by customer in DG12
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I haven't used this business before 
54.9943, -3.2517
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Cost: £474

"We would definitely recommend your firm to other people. The service was excellent. Kevin and Jordan were friendly, cheerful and obliging, they worked very well and handled our property carefully. They were brilliant and we were well pleased with our move."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Kevin Jor
 
 
 


Review 2 Feb 2018
Recommended by customer in DG1
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Below Average 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
55.0768, -3.5854
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Could not fault move, removal men were organised and helpful.
 
Cost: £468

"The couple who were moving out of the house we were moving into had hired a van which when they went to leave had a flat battery. Van was parked against garage door. Our belongings were packed with garage stuff to come out first.
Removal men went to their depot to get a battery charger to get their van started.At no point did they show that this was delaying/ prolonging their working day, or that they were annoyed. Very helpful and polite all day. Definitely would recommend to other people."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Jeff Zander Kevin
 
 
 


Review 30 Jan 2018
Not Recommended by customer in LA6
 My Age: 40 - 49 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I haven't used this business before 
54.1714, -2.5899
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 0/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 4/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 0/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 7/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 5/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
The movers were polite and friendly but that's about all. The truck could not fit all our belongings and was told we would have to move the rest ourselves. Which was denied when management eventually responded to repeated emails/phone calls. Three men to load only two to unload. They could not get furniture upstairs. Good thing it was a cheap quote as had to do some of the moving myself with my 70 year old father.
 
Cost: £800
 

"If you have any kind of issue or problem with your move then Nelson removals will ignore your phone calls and emails. Terrible customer service. I would not recommend due to the management. The prices are good but if I had known I would have paid more to go with a company that actually cares about it's customers."
 
 
 
   Business Reply:

We do our best to rectify any issue that arises on the day of the move, however in this instance our delivery paperwork was completed and signed. Our customer made us aware of the issue days after the removal by which time it was unfortunately too late to rectify. Our quotation system is audited to comply with BS8522:2009 and insures all points are raised clearly prior to the move. To say we did not make the customer aware of any of these points is an admission of not reading the quote fully. We will look closely at this and attempt to ensure this cannot happen again, perhaps a simple phone call to us on the day may have helped.
 


Review 7 Dec 2017
Recommended by customer in DG16
 I'm: Female 
 I have known this business: 5 - 10 years 
54.9897, -3.0698
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 9/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 

"Everybody was very helpful, polite and made our house move straight forward."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Paul Jordan Zander
 
 
 


Review 23 Nov 2017
Not Recommended by customer in DG9
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
54.6944, -4.9115
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Collection & delivery 4/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 8/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
The loading and packing was well executed. The delivery was a fiasco. Arrangements were agreed for my partner to received at 09:00 AM - 09:30 AM. The vehicle arrived at 08:30 AM. 3 vehicle and 5 persons unloaded. Goods were deposited in a haphazard manner with workshop/garage and shed contents being all thrown in the garage. My vintage Riley is surrounded by boxes and unapproachable. I hope there is no damage. Garden wall slightly damaged.
 
Cost: £2062

"Having been very pleased with the loading part of this removal, I was very disappointed to witness the state of play when I arrived at my new home. My partner stated that the five people unloading were running with boxes etc. That she couldn't keep pace with the placing of goods. The personnel involved stated that they were needed at another job."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Conagh Paul Zander Mark
 
 
 


Review 14 Nov 2017
Recommended by customer in DG11
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
55.1165, -3.3672
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
To remove contents of bungalow and a large number of archive boxes and gardening equipment from barns, to storage approx 60 miles, away / or 5 months and then a further ten miles to another bungalow.
 
Cost: £1520

"This was done with speed and efficiency, friendliness, kindness and consideration. "
 
 
 
 
Team:
Jeff Zander Kevin
 
 
 


Review 9 Nov 2017
Recommended by customer in DG4
 My Age: 70 + 
 My level of experience of similar services: Below Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
55.3698, -3.9262
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Domestic removal from a rural location, the access road was narrow, with a difficult bend to negotiate for larger vehicles
 
Cost: £414

"The bend was negotiated with inches to spare and no damage to property!
Paul and Jordan were efficient, while being friendly and pleasant.
Everything completed well, thank you."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Paul Jordan
 
 
 


Review 6 Nov 2017
Recommended by customer in CA1
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Beginner 
 I haven't used this business before 
54.8735, -2.9048
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 9/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Stress-Free and smooth included storage.
 
Cost: £897

"Very Polite gents. All Introduced them selves and shook my hand."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Paul Jordan Kevin Zand
 
 
 


Review 19 Oct 2017
Recommended by customer in LA5
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Above Average 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
54.1681, -2.8214
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 9/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 9/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Large and very heavy sofa that had to go out over balcony and be lowered down 1 floor. To enable this, a 2nd team came for a couple of hours.
 
Cost: £1100

"Very pleased with service."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Ian Mark
 
 
 


Review 18 Oct 2017
Recommended by customer in CA11
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Below Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
54.6682, -2.7470
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 9/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Because the load capacity was underestimated a half load had to be delivered and then the van returned for the rest. This means a lot of extra work for the team which was not helped by the non return of the two Tuesday men.
 
Cost: £1343

"Both men who were working over the whole move were very impressive and had to a lot of extra work (see above). This meant some the packing was rushed and boxes could have done with more specific labeling but it was a difficult situation for them. The extra help on the first day was also hardworking and pleasant. "
 
 
 
 
Team:
Kevin Jordan Jeff Paul
 
 
 


Review 13 Oct 2017
Recommended by customer in EX20
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
50.8185, -4.0718
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 8/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 9/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 9/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Collection went smoothly and to schedule.
Delivery was tampered by the closure of the MS which necessitated a change to a circuitous route.
 
Cost: £2077

"I was extremely happy with the service I received.
Ian and Jordan were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Ian Jorda
 
 
 


Review 12 Oct 2017
Recommended by customer in CA4
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Below Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
54.9011, -2.8351
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Sales & Support 10/10
The advice and information was helpful and all correspondence was easy to understand
Packing & Handling 10/10
The firm took care in packing and handling our property
Collection & delivery 10/10
Our property was collected and delivered as agreed
Service 10/10
The staff were presentable punctual and polite
Value 10/10
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
 
 
Team:
Kevin Mark James
 
 
 

Back to top

» 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1