Robert Cameron Plumbing, Heating & Electrical

8 Dukes Road
Troon
South Ayrshire
KA10 6QR

Plumbing & Heating Engineers

Listed under:  Bathrooms / Bathroom Fitters / Bathroom Installers, Builders, Care and repair/Home improvements, Carpenters & Joiners / Carpentry & Joinery, Central Heating Engineers, Conservatories, Electricians, Gas Engineers, Joiners, Kitchens / Kitchen Fitters / Kitchen Installers, Plumbers / Plumbing, Showers, Wetrooms / Wetroom Installation, Windows / Window Fitters
96% recommended   Rating 9.5/10
67 reviews since 2016
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Overall Rating
9.5 /10 Overall Rating 9.5/10
Based on 67 reviews since 2016
 
 
 
Quality 9.4/10 Quality Rating 9.4
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed

 
Tidy 9.7/10 Tidy Rating 9.7
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy

 
Service 9.6/10 Service Rating 9.6
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional

 
Value 9.3/10 Value Rating 9.3
The firm\'s charges are reasonable for the work involved

 
 
 
Recent Reviews 
 
" Graham Cameron was both professional and approachable, as was his partner Kenny. Both of them were a pleasure to deal with and both provided helpful advice during the reconstruction of my bathroom. ...."   more
 
" At first when we enquired about the bathroom Graham visited and also gave us some great ideas which we ended up going with some of them. He was very friendly and polite and even took his shoes off to ...."   more
 
" We chose Robert Cameron based on their good reputation, but sadly our experience wasn't a pleasant one. The work was slow. Once fitted, the new toilet leaked badly causing a lot of damage to the ceili...."   more
 
" Very efficient repair considering age of the bidet. No quote required minimum charge expected."   more
 
About Us



Businesses
login to your control panel
to add your video or text here
     
 
Reputations are not built overnight
In Referenceline's view, this track record is more important than the ratings. Don't be impressed by a few old reviews which may not be representative.  Look for firms with a commitment to asking for feedback - good or bad - from their customers.  We recommend that you look for a track record of ratings and reviews in at least 9 of the last 12 months and that you should not be too concerned about an isolated negative review.  Ask the firm for their side of the story.
 


 
Good Practice
Businesses have a legal responsibility to treat you fairly, but it's often hard to know what questions to ask or what standards to expect.  They are the experts and you should be able to rely on them to help you make decisions.  These questions explain the commitments that this business has made to follow a code of practice and they will help you understand what you have a right to expect.

 
Charges: 84%
Before starting work, did the firm explain the charges including labour, materials, callout & VAT (as appropriate)?
 
Timing: 91%
Before starting work, did the firm explain when the work was expected to start and finish?
 
Payment: 95%
Before starting work, did the firm explain how to pay (e.g. cash, cheque, etc.)?
 
Reliable: 94%
During the work, did the firm keep their promises, explaining and agreeing any changes about the work, costs or timing where necessary?
 
Invoice: 95%
On completion, did the firm give you an invoice showing the cost of materials, labour and VAT?
 
Guarantee: 83%
On completion, did the firm give you a guarantee for a specified amount of time, or usage (where applicable)?
You can see how many customers have said "Yes" in answer to each question, but please don't expect 100% in every case.  Nobody's perfect and some customers may not be completely sure about the answer.  It's more important that you understand these questions and discuss them with the business so that you both agree what good service means for you.  A responsible business will be happy to explain the details to you and it's always better to clarify these points upfront to avoid misunderstandings later on.
 


Most Popular Words
Reputations are about so more than just ratings. What are the words that customers tend to volunteer when a firm is mentioned? Do they mention particular people that work there?

advice 2
appear 2
bathroom 3
boiler 2
Cameron 6
customer 2
efficient 5
efficiently 3
Engineer 3
Excellent 4
expected 2
fault 2
fitted 2
friendly 6
good 4
Graham 5
great 3
happy 4
heating 3
helpful 5
highly 2
lovely 2
old 2
pleasant 3
polite 3
problem 2
professional 5
Prompt 2
receptionist 2
recommend 3
recommending 2
repair 2
result 2
Robert 4
satisfactorily 2
Satisfied 4
service 10
shoes 2
thermostat 2
tidy 2
trust 2
These are the words most often used in the reviews for this business. Look for the names and comments that reviewers use most often. We count each word once per review.


 
Reviews that match your Budget
There are many good businesses listed on this site. Some may specialise in either larger or smaller budgets, while other may cater for the full range. See if this business has demonstrated a track record of experience that matches your needs.
 
This chart shows the value of the reviews received by Referenceline, so you can see if they generally handle the size of budget you have in mind. You can use the filter below to select the reviews that match your need.
 


Customer Reviews
Sort:        

» 4 3 2 1

Budget:  


Review 26 Jun 2019
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
New bathroom installed, including re-routing all pipework to create an aesthetically pleasing bathroom. Excellent work including installation of new digital shower, vanity unit, toilet, flooring and new radiator. Also installed a radiator in the kitchen where before there was none and an outside tap.
 
Cost: £2200
 

"Graham Cameron was both professional and approachable, as was his partner Kenny. Both of them were a pleasure to deal with and both provided helpful advice during the reconstruction of my bathroom. I would definitely use them again and would also recommend the firm to others without hesitation."
 
 
Team:
Graham and Kenny
 
 
 


Review 26 Jun 2019
Recommended by customer in KA3
 My Age: 40 - 49 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
To carry out work on taking out and putting in a new bathroom. Cameronís provides a great professional service in the undertaking of this project.
 
Cost: £7000
 

"At first when we enquired about the bathroom Graham visited and also gave us some great ideas which we ended up going with some of them. He was very friendly and polite and even took his shoes off to go on the new carpet. He explained how we would pay, cost and the timeframe of the project which didnít deviate in any of our understanding. He also kept us informed of progress along the way.
We are more than happy with the end result and everyone comments on what a lovely bathroom it is. I would have no hesitation recommending Cameronís to anyone."
 
 
Team:
Graham and Kenny
 
 
 


Review 19 Sep 2018
Not Recommended by customer in KA6
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 2/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 5/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 5/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 5/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Removal of old bathroom, preparation of walls and floor, tiling, flooring and fitting new bathroom suite.
 
Cost: £2400

"We chose Robert Cameron based on their good reputation, but sadly our experience wasn't a pleasant one. The work was slow. Once fitted, the new toilet leaked badly causing a lot of damage to the ceilings and walls below. The shower base was fitted incorrectly causing further damage and a lot of un-necessary rework.
A lack of attention to detail in several other areas (for example, hot/cold feeds going to the wrong taps, shower riser not fitted straight, etc.) has sadly left us regretting using this company. We are also left somewhat confused, as on the face of it, they appear a good, trustworthy team with many satisfied customers. A bad day in the office perhaps, but none the less, we didn't get the bathroom we dreamed of. "
 
 
 
 
 
   Business Reply:

We always endeavour to do our best for our customers and if things do not go according to plan we strive to put things right as we take customer feedback seriously within our firm. We are surprised at you raising this matter again approximately 5 months after it being resolved. As you know we contacted Trading Standards in January for advice on how to achieve a resolution with you. It is disappointing that you have now raised inaccuracies after achieving this resolution with you months ago.

As explained to you at the time no tradesman can be held responsible for faulty materials supplied by the customer. If you recall we did not charge you any additional costs for emergency call outs that we made to you that weekend as a result of this.

We have already accepted and apologised to you that some items were not fitted to our usual high standard and we bore the costs in putting this right for you.

You have highlighted that we are a reputable company and as you know we are a long established business. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we use every feedback as a way to improve our customer service.
 


Review 17 Sep 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Called to leak traced leak to faulty shower pump replaced shower pump, left in working order.
 
Cost: £252
 
 
 
 


Review 13 Sep 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Male 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 9/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 9/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 9/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 9/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
 
 
 
 


Review 3 Aug 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 70 + 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I haven't used this business before 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Hot feed to the bidet not working
 

"Very efficient repair considering age of the bidet. No quote required minimum charge expected."
 
 
 
 
 
 


Review 19 Jun 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I haven't used this business before 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Fitted Xpelair in bathroom.
 
Cost: £80

"Work completed very efficiently."
 
 
 
 
 
 


Review 13 Jun 2018
No Recommendation by customer in KA10
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 4/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 2/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 5/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Cost: £384

"This was an intermittent fault and was difficult to diagnose. It started in November 2017 and finished on 1st April 2018 largely due to poor communication between the office, MR Cameron and myself promises of phone calls were rarely kept and information was very difficult to get. Previously this firm has been very professional but due to a change in office staff this is no longer the case. "
 
 
 
 
 
   Business Reply:

Thank you for highlighting your concerns. We understand your frustrations in pin pointing the fault on your boiler. This was a very challenging fault to identify due to its intermittent nature. However it is very satisfying to repair a boiler which has caused such irritation. With regards to communication, this has been addressed and in future procedures have been put in place to ensure customers are fully aware of the status.
 


Review 13 Jun 2018
Not Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: 5 - 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 7/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 8/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 5/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 6/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
To stop our Worcester boiler losing pressure (It had only just been serviced!)
 
Cost: £144

"The biggest problem was that the receptionist would promise that Graham would arrive at a certain time and Graham would arrive late or not at all."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Brian Ward Therese Ward
 
 
   Business Reply:

Thank you for your review. You are correct in saying that a fault was highlighted by our engineer at your annual boiler service. The measures our engineer took to rectify the fault required monitoring over a few days by yourself to see if further repairs were required. Unfortunately a breakdown in communication at our end led to the issues you raise. These issues have been addressed and measures put in place to reduce the chance of appointments being missed without communicating with our customers.
 


Review 7 Jun 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Above Average 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Burst pipe replace kitchen tap replace TRV heat and Freezer endeared valve pin.
 
Cost: £80
 
 
 
 


Review 4 Jun 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Above Average 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Annual Boiler service.
 
 
 
Team:
Graham
 
 
 


Review 4 Jun 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Beginner 
 I have known this business: 5 - 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Emergency bleak down of water pump.
 
Cost: £66

"Excellent service. Came out promptly and repaired the fault. I would highly recommend this company. "
 
 
 
 
 
 


Review 29 May 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Female 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Annual safety.
Check to gas boiler.
 
Cost: £65

"Have been a customer of Robert Cameron for many years.
Prompt and efficient service.
Recommend them to friends."
 
 
 
 
 
 


Review 10 May 2018
Recommended by customer in KA22
 My Age: 40 - 49 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Cost: £1200
 
 
Team:
Graeme Cameron Kenny
 
 
 


Review 9 Feb 2018
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 70 + 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 8/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Replacement of Thermostat.
 
Cost: £126

"Engineer restored heating by passing thermostat until new thermostat was fitted. Heating was on constantly for a week awaiting fitting of new Thermostat. "
 
 
 
 
 
 


Review 9 Feb 2018
Recommended by customer in KA27
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 7/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Annual safety and efficiency test to oil boiler.
 
Cost: £80

"Graham was very efficient as always."
 
 
 
 
 
 


Review 15 Dec 2017
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 60 - 69 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I have known this business: 5 - 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Annual service for platinum cover.
 
Cost: £160

"Carried out to usual high standard."
 
 
 
 
 
 


Review 13 Dec 2017
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Female 
 My level of experience of similar services: Average 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Boiler service.
 
Cost: £65

"Very friendly and helpful. Someone that you can trust."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Graham Cameron
 
 
 


Review 8 Dec 2017
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 70 + 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I have known this business: Over 10 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 9/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 9/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 9/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 9/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Replace part on boiler.
 
Cost: £192

"Have satisfactorily dealt with this company over a long number of years."
 
 
 
 
Team:
Graham Ken
 
 
 


Review 24 Oct 2017
Recommended by customer in KA10
 My Age: 50 - 59 
 I'm: Male 
 My level of experience of similar services: Experienced 
 I have known this business: 1 - 5 years 
 
 
Satisfaction Ratings
 
Quality 10/10
The quality of the work was as expected and agreed
Tidy 10/10
There was little disruption and the site was left clear and tidy
Service 10/10
The team was friendly, helpful, considerate and professional
Value 10/10
The firm's charges are reasonable for the work involved
Show All
 
 
Customer Review
 
Replacement of 3 radiators and boiler service.
 
Cost: £650

"Everything was done professionally and within the timescale expected."
 
 
 
 
 
 

Back to top

» 4 3 2 1